Concerts / Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal (OSM)

  • March 1, 2005
    8:00 pm
  • March 2, 2005
    8:00 pm
Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier — Place des Arts
175, rue Sainte-Catherine Ouest

Works by Colgrass, Mahler.

In Crossworlds, Micheal Colgrass treats the soloists as characters in a play. He explains: “A tonal melody, simple, and evocative of oriental culture, represents the character of the flue, while an atonal theme, complex and percussive, which is not without its associations to the West, portrays the nature of the piano. For me, the adventure consisted of seeing what would happen once these completely different musics met each other, and possibly even crossed their respective boundaries.”

The monumental Sixth Symphony (the “Tragic”) by Mahler, the extravagant portrait of an apocalyptic struggle between humanity and fate! Exuberant joy, an otherworldly calm, terrifying visions and an ardent lyricism and childlike simplicity make up the many facets of this profoundly intense symphony.

  • This concert is given again the day after, Wednesday March 2nd at the Wilfrid Pelletier Hall, 8 pm.



A Société de musique contemporaine du Québec production.