Festival Orford 2011: Mahler’s Fourth and Karina Gauvin

  • July 31, 2011
    4:00 pm
Église Saint-Jean-Bosco
900, rue Sherbrooke — Magog

Works by de Falla, Mahler, Sokolović.

In the wake of the Mahler anniversary, the most delicate of his symphonies, the pastoral Fourth, with beloved Québécois soprano Karina Gauvin as soloist. Also in this concert, dance excerpts from de Falla’s The Three-Cornered Hat, and a work for full orchestra by our composer of the summer, Ana Sokolović.

Concert presented by Orford Arts Centre Festival, hosting Ana Sokolović as composer in residence this summer.



  • orchestra
    Commission: Montreal Symphony Orchestra, with support from the CCA
  • Gustav Mahler, Symphony No. 4 in G major (1899-1901)
    • 1. Bedächtig. Nicht eilen
    • 2. In gemächlicher Bewegung. Ohne Hast
    • 3. Ruhevoll
    • 4. Sehr behaglich
  • Manuel de Falla, El Sombrero de tres picos, Suite no 2