Tuesday, October 4, 2011, 7:00 pm

Americas Society

680 Park Avenue, New York City, New York, USA

Cecilia String Quartet

Photo: Lisa-Marie Mazzucco.

The talented women musicians of the Cecilia String Quartet provide a fresh opportunity to hear Ana Sokolović’s Commedia dell’arte, which the quartet premiered at the 2010 Banff International String Quartet competition. Winners of this prestigious competition, the quartet members have this very recent work by Sokolović all packed up and ready to go!


Renown for its exceptional maturity and stunning creativity, the Cecilia String Quartet is considered one of the most fascinating ensembles on the current Canadian scene.

Composing in the Present!

The SMCQ has been moving in step with the lively rhythms of new music for almost fifty years. With its regular concert season, its Série hommage (Homage Series), an international festival, and a young listener’s programme, the society has served both as a platform for today’s composers and as a window on creative works for everyone.

Page even_detail@hommage2011_29100 generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, June 30, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.