We’re back! And while we were away the world of music creation kept on spinning. On July 22nd the SOCAN Foundation announced the recipients of the 18th annual SOCAN Foundation Awards for Young Composers. Among the winners are two members of the SMCQ artistic committee: Maxime McKinley and Nicolas Gilbert. Other winners are Pierre-Marc Beaudoin, Aaron Gervais, Roger Feria Jr., Charles-Antoine Fréchette, Pierre-Olivier Roy, Félix Frédéric Baril, Taylor Brook, Trevor Grahl, Christian David Berube, Eugene Astapov Luke Nickel, Laperriere and Gabriel Dufour Émilie Payeur. Our heartiest congratulations to all!

News posted by Isabelle Picard on Tuesday, August 25, 2009

Composing in the Present!

The SMCQ has been moving in step with the lively rhythms of new music for almost fifty years. With its regular concert season, its Série hommage (Homage Series), an international festival, and a young listener’s programme, the society has served both as a platform for today’s composers and as a window on creative works for everyone.

Page nouv@10102 generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, June 30, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.