Thursday, November 4, 1971

Salle Claude-Champagne — Université de Montréal

220, avenue Vincent-d’Indy [métro Édouard-Montpetit], Montréal, Québec


  • Iannis Xenakis, Akrata (1964-65)

    piccolo, oboe, clarinet in B-flat, clarinet in E-flat, bass clarinet, bassoon, two double bassons, two horns, three trumpets, two trombones and tuba

  • John Hawkins, Waves (1971) (premiere)

    soprano and piano

    Commission: SMCQ, with support from the CCA

  • Hugh Hartwell, Kâmê’a (1970) (premiere)

    flute (and piccolo), horn, trumpet, trombone, harp, two percussions and double bass

  • Earle Brown, Available Forms I (1961)

    flute, oboe, clarinet in E-flat, clarinet in B-flat, bass clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, trombone, harp, piano, two percussions, two violins, viola, cello and double bass

  • John Cage, Atlas Eclipticalis (1961-62)

    one to eighty-six instruments, and live electronics ad lib

  • John Cage, Winter Music (1956-57)

    one to twenty pianos

    Three pianos version

Composing in the Present!

The SMCQ has been moving in step with the lively rhythms of new music for almost fifty years. With its regular concert season, its Série hommage (Homage Series), an international festival, and a young listener’s programme, the society has served both as a platform for today’s composers and as a window on creative works for everyone.

Page even_detail@mtl06_21534 generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Sunday, August 10, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.