Thursday, October 2, 1975

Salle Pollack — Université McGill

555, rue Sherbrooke Ouest [métro McGill], Montréal, Québec

Tickets: 514-398-4547


  • Igor Fyodorovich Stravinsky, Symphonie d’instruments à vent (1920, 47)

    three flutes, two oboes, three clarinets, two bassoons, English horn, four horns, three trumpets, three trombones, tuba and double bass

  • Claude Vivier, Liebesgedichte (1975) (premiere)

    four mixed voices, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, heckelphone, English horn, two trumpets, trombone and bass trombone

    Commission: SMCQ, with support from the CCA

  • John Hawkins, Waves (1971)

    soprano and piano

    Commission: SMCQ, with support from the CCA

  • Olivier Messiaen, Couleurs de la Cité céleste (1963)

    solo piano, three clarinets, two horns, three trumpets, small trumpet in D, three trombones, bass trombone and seven percussions

Composing in the Present!

The SMCQ has been moving in step with the lively rhythms of new music for almost fifty years. With its regular concert season, its Série hommage (Homage Series), an international festival, and a young listener’s programme, the society has served both as a platform for today’s composers and as a window on creative works for everyone.

Page even_detail@mtl10_21568 generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, June 30, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.