L’Arsenal à musique

  • Performer

Artistic Director: Lorena Corradi

L’Arsenal à musique was founded in 1978 by two graduates of the Milan Conservatory (Italy), Lorena Corradi and Reggi Ettore. Its mission is to make young people aware of new musical approaches by offering them concerts that stimulate their curiosity and their creativity. Premieres of new works, comic, even zany scenarios, and colourful set designs have earned it an immediate success with young audiences. The Arsenal’s numerous productions have been presented in Quebec and the rest of Canada, in the United States (notably at the Annenberg Centre in Philadelphia and at the Brooklyn Academy of Music), as well as in Asia.

The act of collaborating with other artists, exploring new musical avenues and discovering unconventional instruments lead the two artistic directors along creative pathways that are constantly renewed. Their productions have included performances with sound sculpture by the brothers Baschet, and Trip Tympan, an electroacoustic multimedia event produced in conjunction with composer Yves Daoust, writer Gilbert Dupuis and the company L’écran humain. The more “classical” aspects of music are also a feature of the group’s repertory: l’Arsenal’s production based on Saint-Saëns’ Carnival of the Animals has travelled far and wide with the Montréal Symphony Orchestra, the Quebec Symphony Orchestra, the Buffalo Symphony Orchestra, and will be included in an upcoming tour with I Musici de Montréal.

Over the past twenty years, more than a million children have attended the Arsenal’s concerts and participated with enthusiasm either in the context of their schools or in large concert halls during popular events such as the Quebec Summer Festival and the Festival international de musique actuelle de Victoriaville (FIMAV).

The Arsenal’s most recent production is entitled Le Petit Prince, inspired by Saint-Exupéry’s well-known work of the same name. This humorous and moving story was scored with charm and delicacy by Quebec composers Denis Gougeon and Yves Daoust. The multimedia event was premiered on April 30, 2000 by the Quebec Symphony Orchestra.

Source: L’Arsenal à musique

• Interprète

Lorena Corradi, directrice artistique

Fondé en 1978 par Lorena Corradi et Reggi Ettore, tous deux diplômés du Conservatoire de musique de Milan (Italie), l’Arsenal à musique s’est donné pour mission de sensibiliser les jeunes à de nouvelles approches musicales en leur offrant des concerts stimulant leur curiosité et leur créativité. Créations musicales, scénarios drôles et enlevants et décors colorés remportent un succès immédiat auprès du jeune public. Les nombreuses productions de l’Arsenal sont présentés au Québec et au Canada, ainsi qu’aux États-Unis (Annenberg Center de Philadelphie, Brooklyn Academy of Music), et en Asie.

Collaboration avec d’autres artistes, exploration de nouvelles avenues musicales et découverte d’instruments peu conventionnels entraînent les deux directeurs artistiques vers des créations toujours originales: spectacles avec les sculptures sonores des frères Baschet, et Trip Tympan, spectacle électro-acoustique multimédia réalisé en collaboration avec le compositeur Yves Daoust, l’écrivain Gilbert Dupuis et la compagnie L’écran humain. Le volet «classique» n’est pas oublié, puisque le spectacle conçu d’après Le Carnaval des Animaux de Saint-Saëns a déjà été présenté avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, l’Orchestre symphonique de Québec, en tournée avec I Musici de Montréal, et le sera bientôt avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Buffalo.

En vingt ans, plus d’un million d’enfants ont accueilli et participé à ses concerts avec enthousiasme, tant dans les écoles que dans des grandes salles de spectacles ou lors de festivals réputés (Festival d’été de Québec, FIMAV)

La plus récente création, inspirée du texte d’Antoine de St-Exupéry Le Petit Prince, est une fantaisie touchante et drôle, pour laquelle les compositeurs Denis Gougeon et Yves Daoust ont écrit une musique originale particulièrement attachante. Ce spectacle multimédia sera présenté en première le 30 avril 2000 avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Québec.

Pour les saisons à venir, l’Arsenal à musique travaille déjà sur de nouveaux projets passionnants, pour le plus grand plaisir de tous.

Source: L’Arsenal à musique

Page bio@arsenalamusique_l générée à Montréal par litk 0.600 le lundi 14 avril 2014. Conception et mise à jour: DIM.