Walter Boudreau

Photo: Frédéric Nivoix, Andréa Cloutier.

Radio SMCQ: Walter Boudreau

If you can read this text, it means you haven’t installed the Flash plugin or that your version is too old. You must also activate Javascript.

Montréal, Québec, 1947

  • Composer
  • Performer (piano, saxophones)
  • Conductor

The “enfant terrible” of the Quebec contemporary music scene, composer and conductor, Walter Boudreau has signed off on sixty musical creations for diverse arrangements, including many film scores, theater and ballet. Known worldwide for his 1970’s collaboration with the poet, Raôul Duguay (Infonie), he quickly made his mark in art music after studying with Gilles Tremblay, Bruce Mather and Serge Garant, followed by internships at Kagel, Stockhausen and with Ligeti, Messiaen, Xenakis and Boulez.

Boudreau worked for several years as a conductor, on occasion for the Société de musique contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ). In 1988, he was named, artistic director. From the start he proposed programs highlighted by a new eclectism and initiated “unique” projects, anchoring the institution in the cultural milieu. For example, the monumental Millennium Symphony (2000), the establishment of the Montreal/Nouvelles Musique (MNM, 2003) Biennale International Festival, as well as the Homage Series, which pays tribute to our composers (2007).

Throughout these activities, Walter Boudreau never stopped working as a composer, accumulating honours from all horizons — among others the remarkable Concerto de l’asile, written for the pianist, Alain Lefèvre, and the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (2013). He has garnered recognition both as a composer and an artistic director, and has received many prestigious awards, including being named “Chevalier de l’Ordre national du Québec”.

“Imagine a cross between Xenakis, Frank Zappa and Pierre Boulez… The brutal energy of the first, the strange iconoclasticism of the second and the tight construction of the third… Nervous, electric, powerful, soft, complex, until it becomes microcosmic: here is the Walter Boudreau of L’Odysée du Soleil and Demain les Etoiles. Add the irreverent partnership of poet Raôul Duguay and one attains Golgotha.”

[xii-13]

Page bio@boudreau_wa generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, April 14, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.

Walter Boudreau

Photo: Frédéric Nivoix, Andréa Cloutier.

Radio SMCQ: Walter Boudreau

Si vous pouvez lire ce texte, c’est que vous n’avez pas installé Flash ou que votre version n’est pas à jour. Vous devez également activer le Javascript.

Montréal, Québec, 1947

  • Compositeur
  • Interprète (piano, saxophones)
  • Chef

«Enfant terrible» de la musique contemporaine au Québec, le compositeur et chef d’orchestre Walter Boudreau a signé à ce jour plus de soixante œuvres pour diverses formations en plus d’un bon nombre de partitions pour films, théâtre et ballet. Connu du grand public par ses collaborations avec le poète Raôul Duguay au sein de l’Infonie dans les années 1970, il a rapidement fait ses marques dans le milieu de la musique «sérieuse» après avoir étudié avec Gilles Tremblay, Bruce Mather et Serge Garant, puis suivi des stages auprès de Kagel, Stockhausen, Ligeti, Messiaen, Xenakis et Boulez.

Boudreau agissait depuis plusieurs années à titre de chef d’orchestre occasionnel pour la Société de musique contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ) quand, en 1988, il en est nommé directeur artistique. Dès ses premières années, il propose des programmes d’un éclectisme nouveau, et initie des projets uniques qui contribueront à ancrer l’institution dans le milieu culturel. Mentionnons la monumentale Symphonie du Millénaire (2000), la mise en place du festival international biennal Montréal/Nouvelles Musiques (MNM, 2003), ou encore la Série hommage pour nos compositeurs (2007).

À travers ces activités, Walter Boudreau n’a jamais cessé d’être productif comme compositeur, cumulant les commandes de tous horizons — dont le très remarqué Concerto de l’asile, écrit pour le pianiste Alain Lefèvre et l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (2013). Récipiendaire de nombreux prix prestigieux, son apport à la fois comme compositeur et directeur artistique a été maintes fois salué. Il était récemment nommé Chevalier de l’Ordre national du Québec.

«Imaginez un croisement entre Xenakis, Frank Zappa et Pierre Boulez… L’énergie brute du premier, l’étrangeté iconoclaste du second et la construction serrée du troisième… Nervosité, électricité, puissance, souffle, complexité jusque dans le microcosme: voilà le Walter Boudreau de L’odyssée du soleil et de Demain les étoiles. Ajoutez-y l’irrévérence complice du poète Raoul Duguay pour obtenir Golgot(h)a

[xi-13]

Page bio@boudreau_wa générée à Montréal par litk 0.600 le lundi 14 avril 2014. Conception et mise à jour: DIM.