• Performer
  • Jean-Sébastien Roy, Emmanuel Vukovich, Frédéric Lambert, Rachel Desoer

Competition and winner of the 2004 Sir Ernest MacMillan Memorial Foundation, the Lloyd Carr-Harris String Quartet has rapidly established itself as one of the most important string quartets in Canada. Formed in 2002 by Professor André Roy, its members are all recipients of the Schulich School of Music of McGill University’s Lloyd Carr-Harris Scholarships.

After concerts in Canada, France and England, the 2006 season took the quartet on an exten-sive tour of the United States and on its first tour to Italy, with concerts at the Emilia Romagna Festival and the Trecastagni International Music Festival in Catania.

Hailed by critics, their exceptional rendition of Brian Cherney’s String Quartet No.3 was followed by an invitation by the composer to record three of his string quartets with the illus-trious sound engineer Martha de Francisco. The LCH is one of the eight quartets selected from throughout the world to participate in the 5th Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition in Melbourne in July 2007.

[ii-07]

Page bio@carrharrisstringqua_ll generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, June 30, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.

Lloyd Carr-Harris String Quartet

  • Interprète
  • Jean-Sébastien Roy, Emmanuel Vukovich, Frédéric Lambert, Rachel Desoer

Lauréat du Grand Prix et de la Médaille d’or du concours international de musique de chambre Fischoff, gagnant du prix Sir Ernest MacMillan Memorial Foundation, le quatuor à cordes Lloyd Carr-Harris s’est rapidement établi comme l’un des plus importants quatuors à cordes du Canada. Fondé en 2002 par le professeur André Roy, ses membres sont tous récipiendaires d’une bourse Lloyd Carr-Harris de l’École de musique Schulich de l’Université McGill.

Après une série de concerts au Canada, en France et en Angleterre, le quatuor a entrepris en 2006 une vaste tournée aux États-Unis et s’est produit pour la première fois en Italie lors de concerts au Festival d’Émilie-Romagne et au Festival international Trecastagni à Catania.

Saluée par les critiques, l’interprétation exceptionnelle du Quatuor à cordes no 3 de Brian Cherney a été suivie par une invitation de la part du compositeur à enregistrer trois de ses qua-tuors avec la célèbre ingénieure du son Martha de Francisco. Le LCH est l’un des huit quatuors sélectionnés à travers le monde pour la cinquième compétition internationale de musique de chambre de Melbourne, qui se tiendra à Melbourne en juillet 2007.

[ii-07]