Paris, France, 1926

  • Composer
  • Writer

Francis Dhomont studied under Ginette Waldmeier, Charles Koechlin and Nadia Boulanger. In the late 40’s, in Paris (France), he intuitively discovered with magnetic wire what Pierre Schaeffer would later call “musique concrète” and consequently conducted solitary experiments with the musical possibilities of sound recording. Later, leaving behind instrumental writing, he dedicated himself exclusively to electroacoustic composition.

An ardent proponent of acousmatics, his work (since 1963) is comprised exclusively of works for tape bearing witness to his continued interest in morphological interplay and ambiguities between sound and the images it may create.

The Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec has awarded him a prestigious carreer grant. In 1999, he was awarded five first prizes for four of his recent works at international competition (Brazil, Spain, Italy, Hungary and Czech Republic). In 1997, as the winner of the Canada Council for the Arts’ Victor Martyn Lynch-Staunton Award, he was also supported by the DAAD for a residence in Berlin (Germany). Five-time winner at the Bourges International Electroacoustic Music Competition (France) — the Magisterium Prize in 1988 — and 2nd Prize at Prix Ars Electronica 1992 (Linz, Austria), he has received numerous other awards.

He is the editor of special issues published by Musiques & Recherches (Belgium) and of Électroacoustique Québec: l’essor (Québec Electroacoustics: The Expansion) — for Circuit (Montréal). Musical coeditor of the Dictionnaire des arts médiatiques (published by UQAM), he is also lecturer and has produced many radio programs for Radio-Canada and Radio-France.

In 1978-2005, he has divided his time between France and Québec, where he has taught at the Université de Montréal from 1980 to ’96. Since the fall of 2004 he lives in Avignon (France) and regularly presents his works in France and abroad. Great traveller, he participates in several juries.

He is an Associate Composer of the Canadian Music Centre (CMC, 1989) and a Founding Member (1986) and Honorary Member (1989) of the Canadian Electroacoustic Community (CEC). In October 2007, Université de Montréal awarded him a honoris causa doctorate. He is the president of the collective Les Acousmonautes in Marseille (France) and “Ehrenpatron” (honour patron) of the organization Klang Projekte Weimar (Germany).

He now focuses on composition and theory.

He is awarded the Qwartz Pierre-Schaeffer 2012 (Paris, France), Baiocco d’oro 2012 (Perugia, Italia), and the Grand prize of the Giga-Hertz-Preis 2013 (Karlsruhe, Germany).

[ii-14]

Page bio@dhomont_fr generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Thursday, July 31, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.

Paris, France, 1926

  • Compositeur
  • Rédacteur

Francis Dhomont a été l’élève de Ginette Waldmeier, Charles Koechlin et Nadia Boulanger. Vers la fin des années 40, à Paris (France), il découvre intuitivement, grâce au fil magnétique, ce que Pierre Schaeffer nommera la «musique concrète» et expérimente en solitaire les possibilités musicales de l’enregistrement sonore. Plus tard, abandonnant l’écriture instrumentale, il se consacrera exclusivement à la composition électroacoustique.

Ardent exégète de la modalité acousmatique, son œuvre est, depuis 1963, exclusivement constitué de pièces sur support qui témoignent d’un intérêt constant pour une écriture morphologique et pour des ambiguïtés entre le son et l’image qu’il peut susciter.

Le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec lui a attribué une de ses prestigieuses bourses de carrière. En 1999, il obtenait cinq premiers prix pour quatre de ses œuvres dans des concours internationaux (Brésil, Espagne, Italie, Hongrie et République Tchèque). En 1997, récipiendaire du Prix Victor-Martyn-Lynch-Staunton du Conseil des arts du Canada, il était également l’invité du DAAD à Berlin (Allemagne). Cinq fois couronné par le Concours international de musique électroacoustique de Bourges (France) — notamment Prix du Magisterium en 1988 — et 2e prix au Prix Ars Electronica 1992 (Linz, Autriche), il a reçu pour ses œuvres de nombreuses distinctions.

Il a assuré la direction de numéros spéciaux aux éditions Musiques & Recherches (Belgique) et de Électroacoustique Québec: l’essor — pour la revue Circuit (Montréal). Coresponsable musical du Dictionnaire des arts médiatiques (publié par l’UQAM), il est également conférencier et a réalisé plusieurs émissions pour Radio-Canada et Radio-France.

De 1978 à 2005, il partage ses activités entre la France et le Québec où il a enseigné à l’Université de Montréal de 1980 à 96. Il réside depuis l’automne 2004 en Avignon (France) et interprète fréquemment ses oeuvres en France et à l’étranger. Grand voyageur, il siège sur de nombreux jurys.

Compositeur agréé du Centre de musique canadienne (CMC, 1989), il est l’un des membres fondateurs (1986) de la Communauté électroacoustique canadienne (CÉC) dont il est devenu membre honoraire en 1989. En octobre 2007, l’Université de Montréal lui décerne un doctorat honoris causa. Il est président du collectif Les Acousmonautes, Marseille (France) et «Ehrenpatron» de l’organisme Klang Projekte Weimar (Allemagne).

Il se consacre aujourd’hui à la composition et à la réflexion théorique.

Il est le récipiendaire du Qwartz Pierre-Schaeffer 2012 (Paris, France), du Baiocco d’oro 2012 (Perugia, Italie) et du Grand prix Giga-Hertz-Preis 2013 (Karlsruhe, Allemagne).

[ii-14]

Page bio@dhomont_fr générée à Montréal par litk 0.600 le jeudi 31 juillet 2014. Conception et mise à jour: DIM.