Radio SMCQ: Sean Ferguson

If you can read this text, it means you haven’t installed the Flash plugin or that your version is too old. You must also activate Javascript.

Fort Vermilion, Alberta, Canada, 1962

  • Composer

Hailing from a small village in the Northern extremes of Alberta, Sean Ferguson has preserved a freshness of inspiration and a sensitivity for the immediacy of form that bear witness to the exceptional talent of this composer, who is now settled in Montréal. His music is inspired by the processes of nature’s organic development, a sort of musical metaphor for the shifting aspects of the environment. The harmonic and rhythmic languages of his works combine in a forcefull impregnation of the overall form.

Born in 1962 in Fort Vermillion, near the seventieth parallel in Northern Alberta. Sean Ferguson has lived in Montréal since 1990, where he studied composition at McGill University. His interest in the mechanics of perception have lead him to carry out extensive research in psychoacoustics and to incorporate these findings into his compositional language. He is also interested in computer assited composition.

His instrumental works include Inside Passage for piano and large ensemble (1999), Marées-Strates-Envolée for solo piano (1994-1999), Apocryphal Graffiti for chamber orchestra (2000), Heiligenstadt for string orchestra (2001), and Corranach for flute, cello and piano (2002). He has also composed a number of mixed works for live performers with technology, including Vox Machina for soprano, chamber ensemble and multi-channel audio (1993), and Conversations for violin, clarinet, percussion and interactive computer system (1999). His composition In the Flesh was premiered in Paris in February of 2003 by the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France and performed shortly thereafter by the Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal in March as part of the concert closing the Montréal/New Music Festival.

From 1997-2001, he was a counselor of the Société québécoise de recherche en musique, an organization he also served as coordinator of three festivals of Québécois music. Since 1999 he has been a member of the artistic committee of the Société de musique contemporaine du Québec. Sean Ferguson teaches composition at McGill University, where he is director of the Electronic Music Studio.

Page bio@ferguson_se generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, April 14, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.

Radio SMCQ: Sean Ferguson

Si vous pouvez lire ce texte, c’est que vous n’avez pas installé Flash ou que votre version n’est pas à jour. Vous devez également activer le Javascript.

Fort Vermilion, Alberta, Canada, 1962

  • Compositeur

Issu d’un petit village tout au nord de l’Alberta, Sean Ferguson a conservé une fraîcheur d’inspiration et une sensibilité pour l’immédiateté de la forme qui témoignent d’un talent exceptionnel chez ce compositeur établi à Montréal.

Sa musique s’inspire des processus de développement organique de la nature, sorte de métaphore musicale des aspects changeants, mouvants de l’environnement. Dans ses œuvres, les processus harmoniques et rythmiques sont combinés de façon à décupler leur prégnance formelle.

Né à Fort Vermilion, sur la frontière septentrionale de l’Alberta. Installé à Montréal depuis 1990, il y étudie la composition à l’Université McGill. Portant un vif intérêt aux principes de la perception, il entreprend des recherches approfondies en psycho-acoustique et incorpore ses découvertes dans son langage musical. Il s’intéresse également à la composition assistée par ordinateur.

Parmi ses œuvres instrumentales, on compte Inside Passage pour piano et grand ensemble (1999), Marées-Strates-Envolée pour piano solo (1994-1999), Apocryphal Graffiti pour orchestre de chambre (2000), Heiligenstadt pour orchestre à cordes (2001) et Corranach pour flûte, violoncelle et piano (2002) et In the Flesh/Dans la chair, pour grand orchestre (2003). Son catalogue compte également plusieurs œuvres mixtes qui combinent la technologie avec l’action de musiciens, dont Vox Machina pour soprano, ensemble de chambre et dispositif audio multipistes (1993) et Conversations pour violon, clarinette, percussion et système informatique interactif (1999). Sa pièce In the Flesh est créée à Paris en février 2003 par l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France et reprise par l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, en mars, lors de la soirée de clôture du festival Montréal/Nouvelles Musiques.

Entre 1997 et 2001, Sean Ferguson s’implique au sein de la Société québécoise de recherche en musique à titre de conseiller et coordinateur artistique de trois festivals de musique québécoise. Il siège depuis 1999 sur le comité artistique de la SMCQ. Sean Ferguson enseigne la composition à l’Université McGill, où il assure également la direction du Electronic Music Studio (Studio de musique électronique).

Page bio@ferguson_se générée à Montréal par litk 0.600 le mercredi 2 juillet 2014. Conception et mise à jour: DIM.