Mauro Lanza

Venice, Italy, 1975

  • Composer

Mauro Lanza studied piano at the Conservatoire Benedetto Marcello in Venice, took writing and musicology courses at the Ca’Foscari University of Venice and has trained with Brian Ferneyhough, Salvatore Sciarrino and Gérard Grisey. He won first prize at the Fondazione Valentino Bucchi (Rome, 1996) and the Carlo Gesualdo da Venosa (Potenza, 1998) international composition competitions. In 1998, he studied the composition and computer-music curriculum at IRCAM, where he then began to lecture. He worked as a guest professor at McGill University in Montréal in 2004-2005 and taught master classes at the Paris Conservatoire, the Conservatorio di Musica in Cagliari and the conservatory in Cuneo. He is regularly involved in research at IRCAM involving physical modelling synthesis and computer-assisted composition and has been a composition professor there since 2010. In 2002 and 2004, he was honoured at IRCAM and the Archipel festival in Geneva with three monographic concerts.

In 2004, IRCAM and the Paris Opera commissioned Lanza to compose the music for Angelin Preljocaj’s ballet, Le songe de Médée. During his 2008 residency for creating new work at Le Fresnoy, his collaboration with video artist Paulo Pachini produced Descrizione del Diluvio. Lanza was a fellow at the Civitella Raniere Foundation in 2006, the French Academy in Rome in 2007-2008 and the Akademie Schloss Solitude from 2009 to 2011. His work for a double string quartet, Der Kampf zwischen Karneval und Fasten was premiered by the JACK and Arditti quartets at the 2012 Wittener Tage fur neue Kammermusik.

Joyful, often mocking, equally demanding and distant, Mauro Lanza’s compositions mix traditional, electroacoustic and even a variety of toy musical instruments. He also makes use of some rather unexpected devices, like the rain machine featured in his Nubi non scoppiano per il peso (2011).

Traduction Julie Walker [ii-15]

Mauro Lanza

Venise, Italie, 1975

  • Compositeur

Mauro Lanza étudie le piano au Conservatoire B. Marcello de Venise, suit des cours d’écriture et de musicologie à l’Université Ca’ Foscari et se forme auprès de Brian Ferneyhough, Salvatore Sciarrino et Gérard Grisey. Il obtient des premiers prix aux concours internationaux de composition Valentino Bucchi (Rome, 1996) et Carlo Gesualdo da Venosa (Potenza, 1998). En 1998, il suit le Cursus de composition et d’informatique musicale de l’Ircam, où il devient ensuite chargé de cours. Professeur invité à l’Université McGill de Montréal en 2004-2005, il donne également des master classes aux conservatoires de Paris, Cagliari et Cuneo. Il est régulièrement associé aux recherches de l’Ircam dans les domaines de la synthèse par modèles physiques et de la composition assistée par ordinateur et, depuis 2010, il y est professeur de composition. L’Ircam et le festival Archipel de Genève lui consacrent en 2002 et 2004 trois concerts monographiques.

Commande de l’Opéra de Paris et de l’Ircam, il compose en 2004 la musique pour la chorégraphie d’Angelin Preljocaj, Le songe de Médée. Son travail en collaboration avec le vidéaste Paolo Pachini fait l’objet d’une résidence de création au Studio du Fresnoy et donne naissance à Descrizione del Diluvio en 2008. Mauro Lanza est pensionnaire à la Civitella Ranieri Foundation en 2006, à l’académie de France à Rome en 2007-2008 et à l’Akademie Schloss Solitude de 2009 à 2011. Le double quatuor à cordes Der Kampf zwischen Karneval und Fasten est créé par les quatuors Arditti et Jack au festival de Witten en 2012.

Très joueuse et souvent malicieuse, à la fois exigeante et distanciée, l’écriture de Mauro Lanza mêle instrumentarium traditionnel, électroacoustique ainsi que tout un éventail d’instruments jouets et de machines étonnantes, comme cette machine à pluie, autour de laquelle s’élabore le discours musical des Nubi non scoppiano per il peso (2011).

[ii-15]