Estelle Lemire

Canada, 1960

  • Composer
  • Performer (ondes Martenot)

Estelle Lemire graduated from the Conservatoire de musique du Québec in Montréal after extensive musical studies from 1982 to 1991. A student of Jean Laurendeau, she was awarded a First Prize in Ondes Martenot performance (1988) and also studied composition under Gilles Tremblay, receiving a First Prize in composition in 1991. Her curriculum also includes Music Analysis in the class of Gilles Tremblay, for which she was awarded a second Prize in 1990, as well as training in electroacoustic music with Yves Daoust.

A soloist and chamber player, specializing in Ondes Martenot for over 25 years, Estelle Lemire focuses mainly on the performance of new music while advocating better knowledge and appreciation of her instrument. She has performed for radio and television programs as well as for contemporary music organizations, ensembles and festivals in Canada and the United States. Her recordings include a solo album for the SNE label and a Messiaen CD with the Ensemble d’Ondes de Montréal for the ATMA label. In addition to playing staple works from the Ondes repertoire, like Jolivet, Milhaud, Messiaen, Varèse, Murail, Vivier and Boucher, Estelle gave the premiere performances of several works by contemporary composers.

As a composer, her catalogue comprises over fifty scores written for soloists, chamber music ensembles and orchestra. Her works have been performed across Canada by new music ensembles and various festivals in Canada and abroad. She is the recipient of numerous grants and commissions from the Canada Arts Council, Radio-Canada/CBC and from the Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec. She is currently composing A brief history of the Ondes (CAC) and just beginning Madrigal for quartet and electroacoustic (CALQ).

[ii-15]

Estelle Lemire

Canada, 1960

  • Compositrice
  • Interprète (ondes Martenot)

Estelle Lemire a fait ses études supérieures au Conservatoire de musique du Québec à Montréal de 1982 à 1991. Elle y obtient un 1er Prix d’interprétation des ondes Martenot en 1988 auprès de Jean Laurendeau et un 1er Prix de composition en 1991 dans la classe de Gilles Tremblay. Parallèlement elle y étudie l’électroacoustique avec Yves Daoust et reçoit un Prix d’analyse en 1990, dans la classe de Gilles Tremblay.

Interprète soliste et chambriste, spécialiste des ondes Martenot depuis 25 ans, elle privilégie d’abord la création de la musique nouvelle et cherche à faire mieux connaitre et apprécier son instrument. Elle a joué pour la radio, la télévision ainsi que pour diverses sociétés de musique contemporaine, ensembles et festivals au Canada et aux États-Unis. Elle a enregistré pour la compagnie SNE dont un disque soliste et plus récemment un disque Messiaen avec l’Ensemble d’Ondes de Montréal sous étiquette ATMA. En plus de jouer les classiques des ondes comme Jolivet, Milhaud, Messiaen, Varèse, Murail, Vivier et Boucher, elle a créé des œuvres de nombreux compositeurs contemporains.

Elle-même compositrice, son catalogue comporte une cinquantaine d’œuvres de concert écrites pour des solistes, ensembles de musique de chambre et orchestre. Ses œuvres ont été jouées à travers le Canada par des ensembles de musique nouvelle ainsi que dans divers festivals au Canada et en Europe. Elle a reçu de nombreuses bourses et commandes du CAC, du CALQ et de Radio-Canada/CBC. Elle achève d’ailleurs actuellement Une brève histoire des ondes grâce à une bourse du CAC, et elle compose Madrigal pour quatuor et support électroacoustique avec le soutien du CALQ.

[ii-15]