Ofer Pelz

Haifa, Israel, 1978

  • Composer

Ofer Pelz Currently lives in Montréal and is working toward a Doctorate in music at the University of Montréal. He received a Masters with excellence in composition and music theory from the Jerusalem Academy of Music and Dance. Subsequently, he moved to Paris for three years to participate in music technology and instrumental composition courses at the Conservatory of Blanc-Mesnil, the Paris Conservatory and in some workshops including the Acanthes at IRCAM summer course.

The music of Ofer Pelz has been performed in many important festivals around the world such as: Zeitkunst Festival — Radialsystem (Berlin) and Centre Pompidou (Paris), Israel Festival (Jerusalem), Nuova Consonanza (Rome), Heidelberger Biennale für Neue Musik (Heildelberg), ACMF Festival (Tongyoung, South Korea), and by major ensembles including Meitar Ensemble, Cairn Ensemble, The Israel Contemporary Players, Ardeo String Quartet, El Perro Andaluz, Nouvelle Ensemble Modern and more.

Ofer Pelz’s work Do Bats eat Cats? published on the recent CD of The Israel Contemporary Players conducted by Zsolt Nagy. His works have featured on several leading international radio broadcasters. Pelz has collaborated with the French choreographer Françcois Raffinot in his recent work LeçonsDeTenebre.

Pelz’s work Equilibrium was awarded the 2008 ACUM Prize for the Best Creation of the Year, and his music has won a number of other national and international prizes such as Chana Idor Avni first prize (Jerusalem, 2007), Kauffmann Award (Paris, 2008), Ernst Von Siemens Grant (Germany, 2010), and more.

[ii-15]

Ofer Pelz

Haïfa, Israël, 1978

  • Compositeur

Ofer Pelz habite actuellement à Montréal et poursuit un doctorat en musique à l’Université de Montréal. Il a obtenu un Master avec félicitations en composition et théorie musicale de l’Académie de Musique et de Danse de Jérusalem. Il a ensuite passé trois ans à Paris pour suivre des cours de technologie musicale et de composition instrumentale au Conservatoire du Blanc-Mesnil et au Conservatoire de Paris, ainsi que des ateliers, dont ceux du centre Acanthes aux classes d’été de l’IRCAM.

La musique d’Ofer Pelz a été interprétée dans de nombreux festivals d’importance à travers le monde, tels que le Zeitkunst Festival de Berlin, au Radialsystem (Berlin) et au Centre Pompidou (Paris), au Festival israélien de Jérusalem, au Nuova Consonanza (Rome), à la Biennale de musique contemporaine de Heidelberg, au Festival ACMF (Tongyoung, Corée du Sud), et par des ensembles majeurs dont l’ensemble Meitar, l’ensemble Cairn, les Israel Contemporary Players, le Quatuor Ardeo, El Perro Andaluz, le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, entre autres.

La pièce d’Ofer Pelz Do Bats eat Cats? est parue sur l’enregistrement CD récent des Israel Contemporary Players, dirigé par Zsolt Nagy. Ses œuvres sont diffusées sur plusieurs radios internationales d’envergure. Pelz a collaboré avec le chorégraphe français François Raffinot sur son œuvre récente Leçonsdetenèbre.

Equilibrium, de Pelz, a reçu le Prix ACUM 2008 de la Meilleure création de l’année et sa musique a remporté plusieurs autres récompenses nationales et internationales, telles que le premier prix Chana Idor Avni (Jérusalem, 2007), le prix Kauffmann (Paris, 2008), la bourse Ernst Von Siemens (Allemagne, 2010), entre autres.

Traduction Frédéric J. Victor Faugeron [ii-15]