Quebec City, Québec, 1975

  • Composer

Patrick Saint-Denis studied composition at the music conservatories in Québec, Montréal, and La Haye, mathematics at UQAM and at Université Laval, as well as computer science online. His works combine music, live audiovisual and robotics, computing being at the root of it all.

He conceives interactive installations designed primarily for concert settings. His audio-sensitive inventions take on various forms, ranging from video installation to large-scale robotized machinery. His performances integrate various musical formations which sonically drive the installations.

At the edges of the concert format and digital art, his works are also shown in exhibitions. Among other instances, his work was showcased on the occasion of the International Digital Arts Biennial (BIAN/Elektra, 2014), at the Musée national des beaux arts du Québec (2013) and through Accès culture Montréal (2013).

His music has been presented at festivals such as the International Gaudeamus Music Week (Netherlands, 2003, 2004), the Montréal Nouvelles Musiques Festival (Canada, 2005, 2009, 2015), the ISCM World Music Days (Croatia 2005, Slovakia 2013), the Mois Multi (Canada, 2008, 2014), the Cervantino Festival (Mexico, 2009) and at the ICMC (United Kingdom, 2011). His music has been performed by top ensembles such as the Trio Fibonacci, ECM+, the Continuum Ensemble and the Onyx Ensemble. His work was also awarded several recognitions, including the Jules Léger Prize for New Chamber Music in 2004.

[vi-14]

Page bio@saintdenis_pa generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, June 30, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.

Québec, Québec, 1975

  • Compositeur

Patrick Saint-Denis a étudié la composition aux conservatoires de musique de Québec, Montréal, et La Haye, les mathématiques à l’UQAM et à l’Université Laval et l’informatique sur le Web. Ses œuvres allient musique, audiovisuel en direct et robotique. L’informatique est au centre de son travail.

Il imagine des installations interactives conçues premièrement pour le concert. Ses inventions audio-réactives prennent des formes pouvant s’échelonner de l’installation vidéo au dispositif robotisé à grande échelle. Ses performances font appel à différentes formations musicales afin de piloter par le son ses installations.

Situées aux frontières du concert et de l’art numérique, ses œuvres font aussi l’objet d’expositions. Son travail a pu être observé entre autres lors de la Biennale d’art numérique (BIAN/Elektra, 2014), au Musée national des beaux arts du Québec (2013) et dans le réseau Accès culture Montréal (2013).

Sa musique a pu être entendue dans des festivals tels que la International Gaudeamus Music Week (Pays-Bas, 2003, 2004), le festival Montréal Nouvelles Musiques (Canada, 2005, 2009, 2015), le ISCM World Music Days (Croatie 2005, Slovaquie 2013), le Mois Multi (Canada, 2008, 2014), le Festival Cervantino (Mexique, 2009) et l’ICMC (Royaume-Uni, 2011). Il a reçu des interprétations d’ensembles prestigieux tels que le Trio Fibonnacci, l’ECM+, le Continuum Ensemble et l’Onyx Ensemble. Son travail a également été primé à plusieurs reprises, entre autres par le prix Jules-Léger en 2004.

[vi-14]

Page bio@saintdenis_pa générée à Montréal par litk 0.600 le mercredi 2 juillet 2014. Conception et mise à jour: DIM.