Programme

Presentation

We would be right in asking, “Why concertos?” Isn’t that the bourgeois genre par excellence? One that, for all intents and purposes, allowed the composer to be eclipsed by the performer (hence spawning a preference for packaging over the actual package.)

Was this reversal of values not the root of lifeless, learned musical displays and empty technical acrobatics for the sole purpose of pleasing the crowd? For (as in Olympic competitions), faster, louder, and higher (or lower as the case may be…) is always better, especially when accompanied by a few well placed physical contortions and facial expressions sagely betraying some painful melancholy.

Hear Ye! Hear Ye! This instrument rules and you must pay it homage and bow to its law.

Hmm…yes and no.

You see, composers have a love-hate relationship with the instrument: it’s (Freudian?) as ambiguous as anything. Because no instrument means no music, except perhaps in the imagination and then… Pleasure derives mostly from the senses and composers know this.

They also know that the instrument has the power to bring together, to concentrate and increase energy. And so it falls to the composer to make the instrument “speak” with sensitivity, intelligence, and passion. Now if I understand myself correctly, it’s a case of “de la musique avant toute chose” (music before everything else). The upshot:

Panneton: A hard-edged lyricism struggling against a current of violinistic elasticity (Julie-Anne Derome).

Collard: The transcendent America of our assumed urban “cowboyishness” (Alain Trudel).

Ferguson: The psychedelic qualities of the fractal geometry of kaleidoscopic textures (Marc Couroux).

What a programme! Listen and get in the groove: this is passionate music if you let it take you away.

  • Format: CD
  • Label: Atma
  • Release Year: 2003
  • Catalogue No: ACD 22282

Composing in the Present!

The SMCQ has been moving in step with the lively rhythms of new music for almost fifty years. With its regular concert season, its Série hommage (Homage Series), an international festival, and a young listener’s programme, the society has served both as a platform for today’s composers and as a window on creative works for everyone.

Page cat@acd_22282 generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, June 30, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.

Programme

Présentation

On serait en droit de se poser la question suivante: pourquoi des concertos? N’est-ce pas là la forme «bourgeoise» par excellence, celle qui, à toute fin pratique, a contribué à éclipser le compositeur au profit de l’interprète? (Donc, prépondérance du contenant sur le contenu.)

N’y a-t-on pas vu une démonstration puérile de savantes et vides acrobaties techniques pour le seul plaisir de plaire à la galerie?

Car (comme aux Jeux Olympiques), il faut jouer toujours plus vite, plus fort, plus haut (ou bas, selon la circonstance…), en améliorant la prestation de quelques contorsions bien placées et de grimaces savamment ponctuées de douleurs mélancoliques.

OYEZ! OYEZ! L’instrument est roi, il faut lui rendre grâce et se soumettre à sa Loi.

Euh… Oui et non.

Voyez-vous, le compositeur aime l’instrument et le craint: c’est la relation (freudienne?) ambiguë par excellence. Parce que sans instrument, pas de musique, sauf peut-être dans la tête et encore…

Le plaisir passe avant tout par les sens et le compositeur le sait. Il sait aussi que l’instrument a le pouvoir de rassembler, de concentrer et de multiplier l’énergie. Il appartient donc au compositeur de faire «parler» l’instrument avec sensibilité, intelligence et passion. Donc, si je me comprends bien: de la musique avant toute chose… Alors:

Panneton: Lyrisme hard edge à contre-courant des violons élastiques. (Julie-Anne Derome)

Collard: L’Amérique transcendante de notre «cowboyitude» urbaine assumée. (Alain Trudel)

Ferguson: Psychédélisme de la géométrie fractale des textures kaléidoscopiques. (Marc Couroux)

Tout un programme! Écoutez, sentez et vibrez: ces musiques sont passionnantes pour qui s’y laisse emporter.

  • Format: CD
  • Étiquette: Atma
  • Année de parution: 2003
  • Numéro de catalogue: ACD 22282

Composer au présent!

La SMCQ vit au rythme effervescent de la création musicale depuis maintenant près de cinquante ans. Avec ses concerts réguliers, sa Série hommage, son Festival international et ses activités jeunesse, elle est à la fois une tribune pour les compositeurs d’aujourd’hui et une fenêtre ouverte sur la création pour tous.

Page cat@acd_22282 générée à Montréal par litk 0.600 le lundi 14 avril 2014. Conception et mise à jour: DIM.