March 2 & March 3, 2012

Salle Pollack — Université McGill

555, rue Sherbrooke Ouest [métro McGill], Montréal, Québec

Tickets: 514-398-4547

McGill Symphony Orchestra

Photo: Owen Egan.

Production McGill Schulich School of Music

Alexis Hauser raises his baton to Sokolović! The McGill Symphony Orchestra surveys masterworks of the last two centuries with three large-scale orchestral works. In addition to Schubert’s Symphony no 5, Hauser will conduct Bartok’s historic second violin concerto as well as Sokolović’s Nine Proverbs, a work inspired by Breughel le Jeune. Listeners will oscillate between modernity and historicism, and from the light-hearted to the dramatic.

Concert Dates

  • Friday, March 2, 2012
  • Saturday, March 3, 2012

Programme

Founded in 1989, the critically acclaimed McGill Symphony Orchestra has performed in such prestigious venues as Toronto’s Roy Thomson Hall, Ottawa’s National Arts Centre, Montreal’s Place des Arts, and New York’s Lincoln Centre.

Composing in the Present!

The SMCQ has been moving in step with the lively rhythms of new music for almost fifty years. With its regular concert season, its Série hommage (Homage Series), an international festival, and a young listener’s programme, the society has served both as a platform for today’s composers and as a window on creative works for everyone.

Page even_detail@hommage2011_28689 generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, April 14, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.

2 mars et 3 mars 2012

Salle Pollack — Université McGill

555, rue Sherbrooke Ouest [métro McGill], Montréal, Québec

Billets: 514-398-4547

McGill Symphony Orchestra

Photo: Owen Egan.

Production École de musique Schulich de l’Université McGill

Alexis Hauser lève son bâton à Sokolović! L’Orchestre symphonique de McGill fait revivre les grandes œuvres des deux derniers siècles avec trois œuvres orchestrales d’envergure. Accompagnant la Symphonie no 5 de Schubert, Hauser dirige l’historique Concerto pour violon no 2 de Bartok et les Nine Proverbs de Sokolović inspirés de Breughel le Jeune. Les auditeurs oscilleront entre modernité et historicisme, entre légèreté et dramatisme.

Dates de représentation

Programme

Applaudi par la critique, l’Orchestre symphonique de McGill s’est produit depuis sa création en 1989 dans des salles aussi prestigieuses que celles du Roy Thomson Hall de Toronto, du Centre national des Arts d’Ottawa, de la Place des Arts de Montréal et du Lincoln Center à New York.

Composer au présent!

La SMCQ vit au rythme effervescent de la création musicale depuis maintenant près de cinquante ans. Avec ses concerts réguliers, sa Série hommage, son Festival international et ses activités jeunesse, elle est à la fois une tribune pour les compositeurs d’aujourd’hui et une fenêtre ouverte sur la création pour tous.

Page even_detail@hommage2011_28689 générée à Montréal par litk 0.600 le mercredi 2 juillet 2014. Conception et mise à jour: DIM.