Friday, April 13, 2012, 8:00 pm

Muttart Hall — Alberta College Campus — MacEwan University

10050 MacDonald Drive, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Warszynski Trio

Photo: Tadeusz Warszynski.

Radio SMCQ: Warszynski Trio

If you can read this text, it means you haven’t installed the Flash plugin or that your version is too old. You must also activate Javascript.

The Warszynski Trio in Recital, Tatiana Warszynski on violin, Amy Nicholson on cello and Mikolaj Warszynski on piano, presented by Tonus Vivus Society for New Music in collaboration with Mazurka Musik and Art (artists collective) in Edmonton is a multimedia event combining new music performance with a visual art exhibition.

This final concert of Tonus Vivus Main Series season is a rich combination of works performed by the Warszynski Trio. New works by Thom Golub, Dan Brophy, Piotr Grella-Mozejko and Jonathan Maywood will give us the opportunity to hear the music by four excellent local composers. The international scene will be represented by such towering figures as Pärt and Schnittke. Edmonton will also have its first chance to hear a solo piano piece by Guiseppe Lupis from Michigan, U.S., as well as a major composition by Canada’s Ana Sokolović.

The three Edmonton print-makers Tadeusz Warszynski, Daniela Schlueter and Nick Dobson, will produce 6 large prints inspired by chosen compositions that will be presented on April 13. The artists will display them on stage to create a visually rich environment for the music during the performance.

The collaboration between the musicians and print-makers is an exciting opportunity to bring the sound and image together and draw these two art communities closer to each other.

Programme

Composing in the Present!

The SMCQ has been moving in step with the lively rhythms of new music for almost fifty years. With its regular concert season, its Série hommage (Homage Series), an international festival, and a young listener’s programme, the society has served both as a platform for today’s composers and as a window on creative works for everyone.

Page even_detail@hommage2011_29331 generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, June 30, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.

Vendredi 13 avril 2012, 20h00

Muttart Hall — Alberta College Campus — MacEwan University

10050 MacDonald Drive, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Warszynski Trio

Photo: Tadeusz Warszynski.

Radio SMCQ: Warszynski Trio

Si vous pouvez lire ce texte, c’est que vous n’avez pas installé Flash ou que votre version n’est pas à jour. Vous devez également activer le Javascript.

Tonus Vivus Society for New Music présente le récital du Warszynski Trio, en collaboration avec trois artistes visuels d’Edmonton reconnus, Tadeusz Warszynski, Daniela Schlueter et Nick Dobson.

Le concert final de la saison des Main Series de Tonus Vivus est une riche combinaison d’œuvres interprétées par le Warszynski Trio. De nouvelles œuvres de Thom Golub, Dan Brophy, Piotr Grella-Mozekjo et Jonathan Maywood nous donneront l’occasion d’écouter la musique de trois éminents compositeurs locaux. La scène internationale sera représentée par d’excellentes figures de la musique telles que Pärt et Schnittke, et la ville d’Edmonton pourra écouter pour la première fois un solo de piano interprété par Guiseppe Lupis du Michigan et une composition majeure par la canadienne Ana Sokolović.

Les trois artistes visuels d’Edmonton produiront 6 grandes œuvres inspirées par les compositions musicales choisies qui seront présentées le 13 avril. Les artistes installeront les œuvres sur scène afin de créer un environnement visuel riche pour la musique pendant la représentation.

C’est une occasion excitante que cette collaboration entre les artistes dessinateurs et les musiciens qui unira le son et l’image et rapprochera ces deux formes d’art l’une de l’autre.

Programme

Composer au présent!

La SMCQ vit au rythme effervescent de la création musicale depuis maintenant près de cinquante ans. Avec ses concerts réguliers, sa Série hommage, son Festival international et ses activités jeunesse, elle est à la fois une tribune pour les compositeurs d’aujourd’hui et une fenêtre ouverte sur la création pour tous.

Page even_detail@hommage2011_29331 générée à Montréal par litk 0.600 le mercredi 2 juillet 2014. Conception et mise à jour: DIM.