Word of Welcome

The Homage Series, latest addition to the activities of the Société de Musique Contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ), is already in its third edition. Devoted to the work of composer Ana Sokolović, this year’s Series follows in the footsteps of the previous Claude Vivier edition (2007-08, 25 events) and Gilles Tremblay edition (2009-10, 50 events), taking an unprecedented scale with more than 100 concerts and activities throughout the country. Moreover, Lorraine Pintal, artistic director of the Théâtre du Nouveau Monde (TNM), has graciously agreed to act as spokeswoman for this great cultural gathering.

Can this be deemed a success? Most assuredly, as the numbers quoted above quite eloquently bear witness. But above all, we must pay close attention to the objective of the SMCQ’s Homage Series: the integration of our composers into today’s society in the same way as our filmmakers, writers, poets, choreographers, stage directors and others creators of “contemporary” and “current” art, lucid and privileged observers and actors of the complex realities of life in the 21st century, have been integrated through the years.

Because, when one comes to think of it, doesn’t contemporary music (still…) suffer from the deplorable prejudice that has sidelined it as an elitist practice, a laboratory experiment, claiming that only a handful of “enthusiasts” are capable of tasting its forbidden fruits? The Homage Series won’t have anything to do with this so-called “closed circuit” mentality and has clearly shown that this music — in a broader perspective — can be successfully integrated into a wider musical context for the better good of the public, the performers and, of course, our composers.

From a theatrical background in Belgrade — while continuing her piano and composition studies with great Serbian masters — Ana Sokolović moved to Quebec in 1992. With her unique and incredible cultural background, she soon acquired a place of choice in our musical scene. Her music, which is a refined mix of rich Balkan millennia-old tradition and expressive “avant-garde”, immediately conquered those who heard it!

Let yourself be carried away by her unique and oh so charming voice as she ranges from great orchestral pieces to chamber music and opera. You are sure to be carried away, as we were, and, who knows, left asking for more!

Walter Boubreau, Aïda Aoun, Artistic Director & General Director

Mot de bienvenue

La Série hommage, dernière née de la Société de musique contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ), en est déjà à sa troisième édition. Consacrée cette fois-ci à l’œuvre de la compositrice Ana Sokolović, elle emboîte le pas à celles dédiées à Claude Vivier (2007-08, 25 événements) et Gilles Tremblay (2009-10, 50 événements), prenant une ampleur inégalée avec plus de 100 concerts et activités à travers le pays. Qui plus est, Lorraine Pintal, directrice artistique du Théâtre du Nouveau Monde (TNM), se joint gracieusement à ce grand rassemblement du milieu culturel à titre de porte-parole.

Opération réussie? Assurément, et les chiffres cités plus haut en témoignent éloquemment. Mais ce qui doit retenir notre attention avant tout est le but visé par la SMCQ avec cette Série hommage: l’intégration de nos compositeurs dans notre société au même titre que celle accomplie au fil des ans avec nos cinéastes, écrivains, poètes, chorégraphes, metteurs en scène et autres créateurs d’un art «contemporain», «actuel», observateurs — et acteurs — lucides et privilégiés des réalités complexes de la vie au XXIe siècle.

Car, à bien y penser, la musique contemporaine ne souffre-t-elle pas (encore…) de ce déplorable préjugé qui l’a reléguée au titre de pratique élitiste, d’expérience de laboratoire, prétendant que seul un petit nombre «d’initiés» était en mesure de goûter à ses fruits défendus? Ce cercle soi-disant «fermé», la Série hommage n’en a que faire et a clairement démontré que cette musique pouvait être intégrée avec succès — dans un contexte élargi — à une pratique musicale plus large et ce pour le plus grand bonheur du public, des interprètes et bien sûr, de nos compositeurs.

Venue du théâtre à Belgrade — tout en ayant étudié le piano et la composition avec de grands maîtres serbes — Ana Sokolovic s’installe au Québec en 1992 avec son unique et incroyable bagage culturel et va rapidement se tailler une place de choix dans notre milieu musical. Sa musique, mélange raffiné d’une riche tradition millénaire des Balkans et d’avant-garde expressive, a immédiatement conquis ceux et celles qui l’ont entendue!

De ses grandes œuvres orchestrales à la musique de chambre en passant par l’opéra, laissez-vous séduire par cette voix unique et ô combien attachante dans notre paysage culturel. Comme nous tous, vous en sortirez absolument comblés et qui sait, en redemanderez-vous davantage?

Walter Boudreau, Aïda Aoun, Directeur artistique et Directrice générale