The SMCQ’s musicians ended their Lyonnais tour on a bright note, with sunshine brought along from Montpellier. Some exceptionally warm and beautiful weather made walks along the banks of the Rhone river and visits to celebrated silk weavers even more pleasurable. A concert given at the Musée des Moulages was performed to a sold out house and rousing applause that punctuated everything from Walter Boudreau’s work for the Bozzini quartet to Iannis Xenakis’s Pléiades played with the Sixtrum ensemble.

The SMCQ-Sixtrum-Bozzini consortium left Lyon on the somewhat shaky ground of a nation-wide railway on strike, but the TGV trip proceeded without incident. All is set for the final leg of the tour in sunny Paris, for three Radio France concerts and a performance at Musicora, where the Conseil Québécois de la Musique has set up a kiosk showcasing various Québécois artists.

More info

News posted by Pierrette Gingras on Friday, March 20, 2009

Composing in the Present!

The SMCQ has been moving in step with the lively rhythms of new music for almost fifty years. With its regular concert season, its Série hommage (Homage Series), an international festival, and a young listener’s programme, the society has served both as a platform for today’s composers and as a window on creative works for everyone.

Page nouv@10090 generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, June 30, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.

Les musiciens de la SMCQ terminent aujourd’hui leur périple lyonnais où ils ont amené le soleil de Montpellier. Par un temps exceptionnellement beau et chaud, il faisait bon se promener le long des berges du Rhône et visiter les célèbres Ateliers de soieries. Le concert au Musée des Moulages affichait salle comble hier et a été vivement applaudi, qu’il s’agisse du quatuor de Walter Boudreau avec l’ensemble Bozzini ou des Pléiades de Iannis Xenakis avec l’ensemble Sixtrum.

La SMCQ-Sixtrum-Bozzini quittait Lyon aujourd’hui. Nous étions tous inquiets du transport vers Paris dans le contexte de la grève générale en France mais contre toute attente, le transport en TGV s’est fait sans embûches. Le «Dernier Droit» de cette tournée est donc en place dans un Paris sous le soleil, pour trois concerts à Radio France et une présence à Musicora où le Conseil québécois de la musique organise un stand-Québec représentant plusieurs artistes québécois.

Plus d’informations

Nouvelle rédigée par Pierrette Gingras le vendredi 20 mars 2009

Composer au présent!

La SMCQ vit au rythme effervescent de la création musicale depuis maintenant près de cinquante ans. Avec ses concerts réguliers, sa Série hommage, son Festival international et ses activités jeunesse, elle est à la fois une tribune pour les compositeurs d’aujourd’hui et une fenêtre ouverte sur la création pour tous.

Page nouv@10090 générée à Montréal par litk 0.600 le mercredi 2 juillet 2014. Conception et mise à jour: DIM.