As part of its Tribute Series 2, SMCQ and Circuit are working in tandem on a second international “Tribute” essay competition. During each “Tribute Series” (Série Hommage), Circuit publishes a special issue, devoted to the Tribute honoree. This issue will also feature the winning essay.

This year, writers, musicians and musicologists are invited to submit an essay on Gilles Tremblay (5000 words, English or French). The jury, consisting of eminent composers and musicologists and chaired by the composer Jean Lesage, will meet in April 2010 to select the winning essay, slated for publication in Circuit’s September 2010 issue. The winner will receive a $1000 prize, plus the usual contributor’s honorarium. Thanks to their vast network of contacts, the SMCQ and Circuit will ensure that the winning essay receives wide international circulation.

  • Entry deadline: March 1st, 2010 (editorial standards can be found on Circuit web site).

More info

News posted by Noémie Pascal on Tuesday, June 9, 2009

Composing in the Present!

The SMCQ has been moving in step with the lively rhythms of new music for almost fifty years. With its regular concert season, its Série hommage (Homage Series), an international festival, and a young listener’s programme, the society has served both as a platform for today’s composers and as a window on creative works for everyone.

Page nouv@10099 generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, June 30, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.

Concours Hommage

Dépêche

Dans le cadre de la Série Hommage no 2, la SMCQ et la revue Circuit s’associent à nouveau pour un deuxième concours international de rédaction de texte, le “Concours Hommage”. À chaque édition de la Série Hommage, le compositeur mis à l’honneur fait l’objet d’une attention spéciale dans la revue Circuit, dans laquelle est publié l’article gagnant du concours.

Cette année, les écrivains, musiciens et musicologues sont donc invités à soumettre des textes portant sur Gilles Tremblay (5000 mots, français ou anglais). Le jury, formé de musicologues et compositeurs éminents et présidé par le compositeur Jean Lesage, se réunira en avril 2010 pour choisir le texte gagnant, qui paraîtra dans le numéro de Circuit de septembre 2010. L’auteur sélectionné se méritera un prix de 1000$, montant qui s’ajoutera au cachet régulier du magazine. Grâce à leur vaste réseau de contacts, la SMCQ et la revue Circuit lui assureront un rayonnement privilégié sur la scène internationale.

  • Date limite d’inscription: 1er mars 2010 (normes de rédactions disponibles sur le site de Circuit).

Plus d’informations

Nouvelle rédigée par Noémie Pascal le mardi 9 juin 2009

Composer au présent!

La SMCQ vit au rythme effervescent de la création musicale depuis maintenant près de cinquante ans. Avec ses concerts réguliers, sa Série hommage, son Festival international et ses activités jeunesse, elle est à la fois une tribune pour les compositeurs d’aujourd’hui et une fenêtre ouverte sur la création pour tous.

Page nouv@10099 générée à Montréal par litk 0.600 le lundi 14 avril 2014. Conception et mise à jour: DIM.