Last Thursday, Walter Boudreau received Frankenstein at his grand Halloween aural buffet! As starters, guests were completely immersed in Louis Dufort’s post-nuclear sound universe for 14 surrounding speakers, then baited by Serge Garant’s Amuya (a nod at one of Québec’s contemporary music pioneers) and shaken by young composer Wolf Edwards’ music of chain saws, hammers and metal rods. As for the second part of this meal of gruesome food for the ears, baritone Simon Fournier appeared for Frankenstein as a delirious whacko and the evening skidded out in a gush of folly!

About a hundred students from two Montreal secondary schools (Saint-Henri and Antoine de Saint-Exupéry schools) attended an hour of the Halloween concert dress rehearsal. Judging by their screams and shouts, they went through some strong emotions!

More info

News posted by Noémie Pascal (translation: Claire Cavanagh) on Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Composing in the Present!

The SMCQ has been moving in step with the lively rhythms of new music for almost fifty years. With its regular concert season, its Série hommage (Homage Series), an international festival, and a young listener’s programme, the society has served both as a platform for today’s composers and as a window on creative works for everyone.

Page nouv@10164 generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, April 14, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.

Jeudi dernier, Walter Boudreau invitait Frankenstein à son grand buffet sonore de l’Halloween! Pour se mettre en appétit, les convives furent d’emblée immergés dans l’univers sonore post-nucléaire pour 14 haut-parleurs de Louis Dufort, puis appâtés par Amuya de Serge Garant, (clin d’oeil à un pionnier de la musique contemporaine québécoise) et secoués par les scies mécaniques, les marteaux et les fouets métalliques du jeune compositeur Wolf Edwards. En deuxième partie, le baryton Simon Fournier apparut pour Frankenstein dans le rôle d’un disjoncté délirant qui vint terminer la soirée dans un flot de folie!

Une centaine d’élèves de deux écoles secondaires de Montréal (école Saint-Henri et Antoine de Saint-Exupéry) ont assisté à une heure de la générale du concert Halloween. À en juger par les cris et les exclamations qui fusaient parmi les jeunes spectateurs, ils ont vécu des émotions fortes!

Plus d’informations

Nouvelle rédigée par Noémie Pascal le mercredi 3 novembre 2010

Composer au présent!

La SMCQ vit au rythme effervescent de la création musicale depuis maintenant près de cinquante ans. Avec ses concerts réguliers, sa Série hommage, son Festival international et ses activités jeunesse, elle est à la fois une tribune pour les compositeurs d’aujourd’hui et une fenêtre ouverte sur la création pour tous.

Page nouv@10164 générée à Montréal par litk 0.600 le lundi 14 avril 2014. Conception et mise à jour: DIM.