Wednesday, March 7, 2007, 7:00 pm

Salle Pollack — Université McGill

555, rue Sherbrooke Ouest [métro McGill], Montréal, Québec

Tickets: 514-398-4547

Tickets

  • Regular: $25.00
  • Student: $12.50
  • Senior: $10.00

Radio SMCQ: Méchants garçons!

If you can read this text, it means you haven’t installed the Flash plugin or that your version is too old. You must also activate Javascript.

Production MNM / SMCQ, in collaboration with the McGill Digital Composition Studio (Sean Ferguson, Director)

This event is also featured as part of:

As part of its 40th anniversary celebrations (and in tribute to the Conseil des Arts de Montréal which celebrates its 50th anniversary this year), the Ensemble de la SMCQ is putting on a party! The playful character of this must hear event is built out of the works chosen for it, where conventional instruments flirt with toy ones and objects from everyday life.

This is particularly true for Mauro Lanza’s Cane, on a poem by Amelia Resseli*: with soprano Ingrid Schmithüsen, an ensemble of traditional instruments comes face to face with a group of toy ones, the whole treated with real time electronic processing. The question is: who will wind up the winner? Childhood or technology?

The instrumentation of Interior at Petworth — a work by German composer Moritz Eggert, who will also be in Montreal for the festival — also has a few suprises in store. It represents the composer’s response to the lack of vitality in certain works of his time, and is particularly imbued with a sense of liberty.

Manfred Stahnke’s sextet Lumpengalerie is also playful, but in a whole other way: it is no less than “a gallery of rags,” in which both Western and Far Eastern music are used and reused. The rendezvous itself will be a surprise, even for the musicians who are invited here and there to move away from the score! With Harman’s America, the “game” with “another kind of music” is also part of the plan. Composed for an event held by the New Music Concerts entitled “All Canadian, Eh?,” this work delights in the use of clearly non Canadian material.

*Commissioned by McGill University’s Digital Composition Studio with the support of the Daniel Langlois Foundation.

Commissioned by the McGill Digital Composition Studio with the Daniel Langlois Foundation

Programme

Composing in the Present!

The SMCQ has been moving in step with the lively rhythms of new music for almost fifty years. With its regular concert season, its Série hommage (Homage Series), an international festival, and a young listener’s programme, the society has served both as a platform for today’s composers and as a window on creative works for everyone.

Page even_detail@mtl41_21906 generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, June 30, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.

Mercredi 7 mars 2007, 19h00

Salle Pollack — Université McGill

555, rue Sherbrooke Ouest [métro McGill], Montréal, Québec

Billets: 514-398-4547

Billets

  • Régulier: 25,00$
  • Étudiant: 12,50$
  • Aîné: 10,00$

Radio SMCQ: Méchants garçons!

Si vous pouvez lire ce texte, c’est que vous n’avez pas installé Flash ou que votre version n’est pas à jour. Vous devez également activer le Javascript.

Production MNM / SMCQ, en collaboration avec le McGill Digital Composition Studio (Sean Ferguson, directeur)

Cet événement est également présenté dans le cadre de:

L’ensemble de la Société de musique contemporaine du Québec s’offre ici une véritable fête! Le caractère ludique est en effet incontournable dans le répertoire choisi ici, dans lequel instruments traditionnels flirtent avec instruments jouets et objets de la vie quotidienne. Une programmation sur mesure pour souligner à la fois les 40 ans de l’organisme et les 50 ans du Conseil des Arts de Montréal auquel il rend ici hommage!

Le jeu est particulièrement présent dans Cane de Mauro Lanza sur un poème d’Amelia Rosselli*: autour de la soprano Ingrid Schmithüsen, un ensemble d’instruments traditionnels affronte un ensemble d’instruments jouets, le tout avec un traitement électronique en direct. Mais qui sortira vainqueur de cette bataille entre tradition, enfance et technologie?

L’instrumentation de Interior at Petworth de l’allemand Moritz Eggert — qui sera à Montréal dans le cadre du festival — réserve elle aussi plusieurs surprises: réponse du compositeur au manque de vitalité de certaines œuvres de son temps, elle est elle-même particulièrement empreinte de liberté…

Le sextuor de Manfred Stahnke, Lumpengalerie, est aussi ludique mais d’une tout autre façon: elle n’est rien de moins qu’une «galerie de chiffons», dans laquelle des musiques occidentales et orientales sont utilisées et réutilisées. La surprise est encore au rendez-vous, même pour les musiciens qui sont invités ci et là à s’écarter de la partition! Quant Amerika de Harman, le «jeu» avec une «autre musique» est tout aussi présent: composée pour un concert du New Music Concerts intitulé «All Canadian, eh?», elle se plaît à utiliser ironiquement un matériau clairement non canadien.

*Commande du Digital Composition Studio de McGill avec le soutien de la Fondation Daniel Langlois

Programme

Composer au présent!

La SMCQ vit au rythme effervescent de la création musicale depuis maintenant près de cinquante ans. Avec ses concerts réguliers, sa Série hommage, son Festival international et ses activités jeunesse, elle est à la fois une tribune pour les compositeurs d’aujourd’hui et une fenêtre ouverte sur la création pour tous.

Page even_detail@mtl41_21906 générée à Montréal par litk 0.600 le lundi 14 avril 2014. Conception et mise à jour: DIM.