Love Story

I will never forget my initiation to the SMCQ on April 25th, 1968, when my friend, the poet Raôul Duguay, took me to one of its concerts at Salle Claude-Champagne. This concert gave me a jolt that was both terrible and magnificent, because this musical “love at first sight” prompted an unexpected career move and left an indelible mark on my existence.

DARE to experience the “jolt” and TAKE A CHANCE on falling in love as the Société de musique contemporaine du Québec celebrates its fortieth anniversary with an emotionally charged tribute to the “fiery” souls and dedicated artists who are unconditionally committed to the formidable odyssey that is the music of our time.

Through the performance of works by 123 composers over 572 concerts and including 150 premieres, after 40 years of adventure, avant-gardism, and vitality, the SMCQ REMAINS ABOVE ALL a moving love story!

Experience with us the best in new music from here and abroad that our composers, soloists, orchestras, and ensembles have to offer. Let yourself be literally skyrocketed higher and farther than the careful steps of a tortoise might carry you in a world too often tormented, incomprehensible, and combative…

Walter Boudreau September 33, 2006

Composing in the Present!

The SMCQ has been moving in step with the lively rhythms of new music for almost fifty years. With its regular concert season, its Série hommage (Homage Series), an international festival, and a young listener’s programme, the society has served both as a platform for today’s composers and as a window on creative works for everyone.

Page mtl@41.mot generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, June 30, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.

Une histoire d’amour!

Je me souviendrai toujours de ce 25 avril 1968 où mon copain de route, le poète Raôul Duguay, m’initia à la SMCQ lors d’un concert à la Salle Claude-Champagne. Le choc fut simultanément terrible et magnifique, car ce «coup de foudre» musical allait donner à ma carrière un tournant imprévu et marquer mon existence à jamais.

À votre tour, OSEZ vivre le «choc» et RISQUEZ de tomber en amour, car cette année la Société de musique contemporaine du Québec célèbre son quarantième anniversaire en saluant bien haut les esprits «allumés» et artistes affranchis, absolument engagés dans la formidable odyssée des musiques de notre temps.

Au fil des compositeurs présentés (123), des concerts (572) et des créations (150), après 40 ans d’aventure, d’avant-garde et de vitalité, la SMCQ c’est ENCORE et SURTOUT une histoire d’amour!

Venez goûter avec nous ce que nos compositeurs, solistes, orchestres et ensembles ont à vous offrir de mieux en création musicale d’ici et d’ailleurs. Laissez-vous emporter, telles de véritables fusées, plus haut, plus loin, au-delà des pas de tortue d’un monde trop souvent tourmenté, opaque et belliqueux…

Walter Boudreau

Composer au présent!

La SMCQ vit au rythme effervescent de la création musicale depuis maintenant près de cinquante ans. Avec ses concerts réguliers, sa Série hommage, son Festival international et ses activités jeunesse, elle est à la fois une tribune pour les compositeurs d’aujourd’hui et une fenêtre ouverte sur la création pour tous.

Page mtl@41.mot générée à Montréal par litk 0.600 le mercredi 2 juillet 2014. Conception et mise à jour: DIM.