Niemandslandhymnen

  • May 18, 2017
    7:00 pm
Usine C
1345, avenue Lalonde (entre de la Visitation et Panet, une rue au sud d’Ontario)

Niemandslandhymnen by Sandeep Bhagwati.

An exceptional multidisciplinary event: Sandeep Bhagwati — composer, poet, director — creates a ritual performance for 10 singers and musicians, live-electronic sounds, ambient light and new technologies. Based on 13 poems in which he explores no man’s lands of different kinds — winds, algorithms, clouds, radiations, diasporas — he creates “trans-traditional” and “trans-sensory” anthems that explore the many resonances in our globalized existence — and invites the audience to roam, to listen, to imagine and commune in a wondrous space that reflects on our world at once so strange — yet so familiar.

For Sandeep Bhagwati, Niemandsland (no-man’s-land in German) is what exists in any space belonging to nobody and thus, belonging to everybody. In this spectacle, when purchasing their ticket audience members will have the opportunity to choose how they wish to involve themselves in this event. Those who opt for a seat will relate to the performance as observers, remaining slightly distanced from the action. Those who choose a spot in the open area, will enter a border free zone, freely roaming among other spectators and artists, living the full experience of Niemandsland.

Angélique Willkie, trickster-creator, dramaturgy; Sandeep Bhagwati, music director and staging; Nancy Bussières, light design; Alex Bachmayer, production design and costumes; Louis-Patrick Leroux, literary translator.

Participants

Program

A Société de musique contemporaine du Québec, Matralab production.

Niemandslandhymnen

  • 18 mai 2017
    19h00
Usine C
1345, avenue Lalonde (entre de la Visitation et Panet, une rue au sud d’Ontario)

Niemandslandhymnen de Sandeep Bhagwati.

Un événement multidisciplinaire exceptionnel: Sandeep Bhagwati — compositeur, poète, réalisateur — crée une performance rituelle pour 10 chanteurs et musiciens, des sons électroniques en direct, avec la lumière ambiante et les nouvelles technologies. Basé sur 13 poèmes dans lesquels il explore les différents domaines de l’homme — vents, algorithmes, nuages, rayonnements, diasporas — il crée des hymnes “trans-traditionnels” et “trans-sensoriels” qui explorent les nombreuses résonances de notre existence mondialisée. Sandeep Bhagwati invite ainsi l’auditoire à errer, à écouter, à imaginer et à communier dans un espace merveilleux qui reflète sur notre monde à la fois si étrange et pourtant si familier.

Pour Sandeep Bhagwati, un Niemandsland (no man’s land en allemand) est avant tout un espace qui n’appartient à personne et qui, donc, appartient à tout le monde. Dans cette optique, nous invitons le public, lors de l’achat d’un billet, à choisir le rôle qu’il intégrera lors de cet événement. Ceux qui opteront pour une place assise se positionneront davantage en tant qu’observateurs et resteront légèrement à l’écart de l’action. Quant à ceux qui choisiront une place sans siège, ils intégreront une zone sans frontière où déambulent librement spectateurs et artistes, vivant ainsi la pleine expérience du Niemandsland.

Sandeep Bhagwati, directeur musical et mise en scène; Angélique Willkie, «filou-créateur», dramaturgie; Nancy Bussières, éclairages; Alex Bachmayer, scénographie et costumes; Louis-Patrick Leroux, traduction des poèmes; Jennifer Couëlle, traduction de la fable; Nathalie Dumont, design et typographie.

Participants

Programme

Une production Société de musique contemporaine du Québec, Matralab.