Play audio clip

2 horns, 3 trumpets (piccolo trumpet), 3 trombones, percussion, harp, piano, violin, viola, cello and double bass

Commission: SMCQ, with support from the CCA

Premiere: June 13, 1996, Musica Maxima, Salle Pierre-Mercure — Centre Pierre-Péladeau, Montréal (Québec)

The present time is one of budgetary restrictions—a process that was unfortunately started a few years ago—cutbacks in social services, and we are encouraged to tighten our belts. We learned recently that three Canadian banks were predicting a 20% increase in their profits and that one of our crown corporations posted net profits of 429 million dollars for the first quarter.

Who, in the end, actually benefits from these cutbacks? The answer is obvious, even more so if one considers that statistical data shows an ever-increasing gap between rich and poor. The inspiration for this work may not have been these bugetary restrictions (“compressions” in French), but since it was composed at a time when I felt particularly concerned about what was happening, I realized that it was as disrupted as I was by all this. “Compression,” pressure, tension; the voice of the people is crushed, and public opinion is manipulated in the interest of a unique, obsessive idea: the reduction of the deficit.

Compressions is made of contrasts and detours. My starting point was the instrumentation, which sets up uneven forces: eight brass intruments, four strings, one percussionist and two keyboards. This orchestral situation is filled with potential, and it allowed me to work within an interrupted discourse built from variations and the superimposition of elements. I should clarify one thing: despite my opening statement on the economy and the feeling of helplessness that it expressed, Compressions is not “program music,” it contains no musical scenario and does not draw any conclusions. I wrote music which, I hope, expresses not an idea but emotions—emotions which would be impossible for me to translate into words. (Linda Bouchard)

Performances

Recording

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

Jouer l’extrait audio

2 cors, 3 trompettes (trompette piccolo), 3 trombones, percussions, harpe, piano, violon, alto, violoncelle et contrebasse

Commande: SMCQ, avec l’aide du CAC

Création: 13 juin 1996, Musica Maxima, Salle Pierre-Mercure — Centre Pierre-Péladeau, Montréal (Québec)

En ce moment, et malheureusement depuis déjà quelques années, les budgets sont comprimés, les services sociaux sont coupés et on nous exhorte de nous serrer la ceinture. Nous apprenions dernièrement que trois banques canadiennes annoncent des profits en hausse de plus de 20% et qu’une de nos sociétés d’état réalise un bénéfice net de 429 millions au premier trimestre.

Qui profite de ces compressions en fin de compte? La réponse est claire, d’autant plus que les statistiques démontrent que l’écart entre les riches et les pauvres s’accroît de jour en jour. Cette œuvre n’est sûrement pas ins-pirée par les compressions, mais comme je l’ai composée au moment où je me sentais particulièrement interpellée par ce qui se passe, j’ai réalisé qu’elle était bousculée, comme moi d’ailleurs, par tout ça. Compression, pression, tension; la voix des individus qui est écrasée et l’opinion publique qui est complètement manipulée au profit d’une seule idée obsessionnelle: la réduction de la dette.

Compressions (la composition) est faite de contrastes et de bifurcations. Mon point de départ fut l’intrumentation composée de forces inégales: huit cuivres, quatre cordes, un seul percussioniste et deux claviers. Une situation orchestrale remplie de potentiel qui m’a permis d’œuvrer à l’intérieur d’un discours interrompu fait de variations et de surimpositions. En dépit de mon propos sur l’économie et le désarroi dont je vous fais part au début de ce texte, j’aimerais clarifier une chose: il n’y a surtout pas de scénario musical, ce n’est pas une musique à programme et je ne tire aucune conclusion. J’ai composé une musique qui, je l’espère, exprime non pas une idée mais des émotions. Des émotions qu’il me serait bien impossible de traduire en mots.

Exécutions

Enregistrement

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.