This concert for turntables claims to be an innovative project aiming to underline the various facets of the Montreal electronic/house/techno scene. This grouping of all the buroughs proposes a new way of producing music live collectively.

The concept is rather simple. There are 8 DJs and a conductor on the stage. The number of DJs can vary, but each one has a turntable, a mixer and some records which he will have chosen with care (the goal being to create music from different sound sources). The conductor controls the mixing properly by adjusting the volumes and gives the show its particular character.

It is a project that many had imagined and talked about, but at Complot we like to go all the way. The event illustrates the kind of projects that Complot favors and remains a great challenge for us, for the orchestra and its conductor, as well as for the organizers.

The first performance, which took place on November 26, 2005, was a great success (video: www.complot.ca). Those who were present have been asking for more and are still talking about it. The project was then presented at the Théâtre Châtelet in Paris on September 9 of last year—and comments about that show are still being heard. Parisians came to see an unusual show that was truly original. The third edition also took place at the SAT on September 23, 2006.

Within the framework of the festival Montréal Nouvelles Musiques, Complot accomplishes great things! With the conducor Walter Boudreau and the soloist Martin Tétreault, this concert will be as memorable as it is dazzling. Moreover, we’ll have the opportunity to see the Quasar saxophonists as special guests.

[ii-07]

Performance

Page oeuvre@21578 generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, April 14, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.

Ce concert pour tables tournantes se veut un projet innovateur ayant comme but de souligner les diverses facettes de la scène électronique/house/techno montréalaise. Ce rassemblement de tous les arrondissements propose une nouvelle façon de produire de la musique collectivement en direct.

Le concept est pourtant bien simple: huit DJ sur scène et un chef d’orchestre. Le nombre de DJ peut varier, mais chacun aura une table tournante, un mixer et quelques disques, qu’il aura sélectionnés judicieusement (le but étant de créer une musique à partir de plusieurs sources sonores). Le chef s’assure de bien mélanger le tout en ajustant les volumes des DJ et de donner le ton au spectacle.

C’est un projet qui a bien sûr frôlé plusieurs lèvres, mais chez Complot, nous aimons pousser la note. Cet événement s’inscrit dans le genre de projets que Complot préconise et reste un grand défi pour tous, autant pour l’orchestre et son maestro que pour les organisateurs.

La première édition, qui a eu lieu le 26 novembre 2005, a été un succès retentissant (video: www.complot.ca). Ceux qui étaient présents en redemandent et en parlent encore. Le projet a ensuite été présenté au Théâtre Châtelet à Paris, le 9 septembre dernier; les échos de cette prestation se font encore entendre! Les parisiens ont assisté à un spectacle inusité et plein d’originalité. La troisième édition a aussi eu lieu à la SAT, le 23 septembre 2006.

Dans le cadre du festival Montréal Nouvelles Musiques, Complot fait les choses en grand! Avec comme chef d’orchestre Walter Boudreau et comme soliste Martin Tétreault, ce concert sera aussi mémorable que fulgurant. De plus, nous aurons la chance d’y voir les saxophonistes du groupe Quasar en invités spéciaux.

[ii-07]

Exécution

Page oeuvre@21578 générée à Montréal par litk 0.600 le lundi 14 avril 2014. Conception et mise à jour: DIM.