flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano, and percussion

Commission: Standing Wave, with support from the CCA

An incipit is the series of words which appears at the beginning of a poem or other literary piece. The term is also applied to music where one may view the opening measure or measures of a piece of music in the context of an index.

In this new work Incipits, I postulated what it mike be like if a musician seated at the piano never cared to leave the index page of musical examples — that is to say, what if this reference page was a complete musical statement in and of itself?

The index page in question is from a collection ofkeyboard sonatas by the Rococo-period composer Domenico Scarlatti. Unlike many of the fragmentary pieces of my recent output, this work divides more clearly into a number of longer sections, each comprised of fragments unified by textural or gestural content.

[ii-11]

Performance

Page oeuvre@29512 generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, April 14, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.

Incipits (2003)

Chris Paul Harman

flûte, clarinette, violon, violoncelle, piano et percussions

Commande: Standing Wave, avec l’aide du CAC

Un incipit correspond aux premiers mots qui apparaissent au début d’un poème ou d’un autre œuvre littéraire. Le terme est également appliqué à la musique, lorsqu’on perçoit la ou les mesures d’ouverture d’une pièce musicale dans le contexte d’un index.

Dans cette nouvelle œuvre, Incipits, j’ai supposé ce que cela pourrait être si un musicien s’asseyait au piano sans jamais prendre le soin de quitter la page index des exemples musicaux — ce qui revient à dire, que se passerait-il si cette page de références était une déclaration musicale complète en et hors elle-même?

La page d’index en question provient d’un recueil de sonates pour clavier par le compositeur de la période rococo, Domenico Scarlatti. A l’inverse de la plupart des pièces fragmentaires de mes productions récentes, cette œuvre se divise plus clairement en un nombre de sections plus longues, chacune composée de fragments unifiés par un contenu textuel ou gestuel.

[traduction française: Marion Sivy, ii-11]

Exécution