Artistic Director: Pauline Vaillancourt

The Voice at the Heart of New Works

In 1990, the lyric company Chants Libres was founded by Pauline Vaillancourt with the mission of uniting creative artists from a range of disciplines - music, theatre, visual arts, electronic arts, video… - around one central theme: the Voice. The company has premiered several acclaimed pieces: Ne blâmez jamais les bédouins, by Alain Thibault and René-Daniel Dubois; La Princesse blanche, by Bruce Mather and Reynald Tremblay; Les Chants du Capricorne, by Giacinto Scelsi; Le Vampire et la Nymphomane, by Serge Provost and Claude Gauvreau, and Yo soy la desintegración, by Jean Piché and Yan Muckle. The performance of these new works enabled Chants Libres to attain a solid reputation and to become the vehicle of choice for many innovators in performances involving sound, visuals, and words. Its prime focus is on operatic genres that employ either chamber groups or the full orchestra, as well as musicals and traditional or radically new forms of experimental music.

Chants Libres offers audiences of the Millennium Symphony a sound and visual installation created specially for the occasion by electroacoustic composer Louis Dufort and visual artist Guylaine Coderre. The work is performed by Louis Dufort and Pauline Vaillancourt, soprano.

Source: Chants Libres

Composing in the Present!

The SMCQ has been moving in step with the lively rhythms of new music for almost fifty years. With its regular concert season, its Série hommage (Homage Series), an international festival, and a young listener’s programme, the society has served both as a platform for today’s composers and as a window on creative works for everyone.

Page symph@organismes.chantslibres generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, June 30, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.

Pauline Vaillancourt, directrice artistique

La voix au cœur de la création

Fondée en 1990, la Compagnie lyrique de création CHANTS LIBRES, sous la direction artistique de Pauline Vaillancourt, se donne comme mandat de réunir des créateurs de toutes disciplines - musique, théâtre, arts plastique, arts électroniques, vidéo… - autour d’un point commun: la voix. Après plusieurs créations remarquables telles que: ne blâmez jamais les bédouins d’Alain Thibault - René-Daniel Dubois, La Princesse blanche de Bruce Mather- Reynald Tremblay, les Chants du capricorne de Giacinto Scelsi, le Vampire et la nymphomane de Serge Provost - Claude Gauvreau, et Yo soy la desintegracion de Jean Piché - Yan Muckle, Chants Libres jouit maintenant d’une réputation solide et est devenue un outil indispensable et unique pour les créateurs de son, d’images, de paroles, qui souhaitent faire revivre la forme opéra - de chambre ou pour grand orchestre - théâtre musical ou musique expérimentale, de forme traditionnelle ou éclatée.

Pour cet événement particulier que sera la Symphonie du millénaire, Chants Libres offrira aux spectateurs une installation sonore et visuelle créée pour l’occasion par les artistes Louis Dufort, compositeur en électroacoustique, et Guylaine Coderre, artiste visuelle. L’œuvre sera exécutée par Louis Dufort et Pauline Vaillancourt, soprano.

Source: Chants Libres

Composer au présent!

La SMCQ vit au rythme effervescent de la création musicale depuis maintenant près de cinquante ans. Avec ses concerts réguliers, sa Série hommage, son Festival international et ses activités jeunesse, elle est à la fois une tribune pour les compositeurs d’aujourd’hui et une fenêtre ouverte sur la création pour tous.

Page symph@organismes.chantslibres générée à Montréal par litk 0.600 le mercredi 2 juillet 2014. Conception et mise à jour: DIM.